TwelverShia.net Forum

Sister 'Nomadic Soul' and her conversion

Bolani Muslim

Sister 'Nomadic Soul' and her conversion
« on: July 12, 2015, 04:57:14 PM »
Me: Tell us a bit about yourself?

NomadicSoul: I am almost 20, live with both my parents and two younger sisters. Alhumdulillah, I am a student studying International Relations and Arabic

Me: Tell us something about the background of your parents and family.

NomadicSoul: My mother is originally from Yemen but her mother has Turkish ancestry. My father is an East African Indian. Both my parents, myself and my middle sister were born and bred in East Africa. Youngest sister was born and bred here [London]. My mother has ancestry that links her family back to the family of the Prophet (saw) and in her family, everyone is Sunni with a few following the Zaydi school of thought.

She converted to Shi’aism a year after her marriage with my father. My father’s lineage goes back to his ancestors [wayyyyy back!] being Hindu but converted to Shi’ite Muslims.

Me: Did anyone in your mother’s family oppose her conversion/marriage?

NomadicSoul: My mother wasn’t from a practising background and her first proper encounter with religion was when she married my father. Then during a period of their married life, they encountered a life/death situation and my mother made a pact that if they got out alive; she would become a Shi’a and that’s what happened; she also witness miracles during the holy Shi’a pilgrimage to Karbala and syria; no one in her family has opposed this as such.

Me: Were your family strict Shi’as? What was thier attitude towards Sunnis?